Technology In The Classroom

Posted on October 2, 2012 by

7


When I decided to take US History Research Seminar this year, I was not quite sure what I was getting into. I knew it was similar to Age of Ex, which I took last year, and that it was a project based class, yet I was not sure how I would go about doing my work if there was not an assignment due daily. Within the first few weeks I have learned so much about how I work best and how I can best produce quality work. My teacher, Mike, showed me how technology and social media can play an important role in the learning process. Last year in Age of Ex he introduced me to blogging and right away I loved it. Most teachers are not as ready to jump into writing on blogs, or communicating through twitter, but Mike has shown how these tools are great resources for communicating with fellow classmates, and the world. I have learned where my best writing comes from, and found it is when I am not confined to a specific topic but I am able to pick things that interest me. One great part about blogging is the ability to reflect on your recent work and get opinions, which is why I was most drawn to the idea.

Technology is used by so many people on a daily bases, but for me I did not realize its full potential when it came to learning. I mostly thought of technology and social media as a form of entertainment, and I believe some teachers still do. In many of the classes I think social media could play an important role in helping students understand topics, improve writing skills, and learn great forms of communication, yet many teachers are still hesitant to try them due to the amount of kids who abuse social media privileges.Through social media and technology I have discovered how fun learning can be, whereas in previous years learning became more of a chore than anything else.

“Develop a passion for learning. If you do, you will never cease to grow.”
Anthony J. D’Angelo

I enjoy blogging because it gives me the freedom to write about whatever I chose, to have a large audience, and to start a conversation with the world. Communication is a key part of our world today, and without technology and social media the world would not be nearly as educated as we are today.

Posted in: Learning, Technology