US History Research Seminar – a Course in Procrastination

Posted on October 2, 2012 by

13


picture taken from: http://hyperboleandahalf.blogspot.com/2010/03/procrastinator.html

In keeping with the tone of last year’s first blog post, I’ve decided to once again, write about procrastination and myself. I thought it might be a nice chance to revaluate the manner in which I’m getting my work done as a junior in high school as opposed to how I did as a sophomore.

Sophomore Year:

As a sophomore, I remember coming to school and being overwhelmed by how much homework I already had (just the way I felt as a freshman the year before). Initially, I blamed this on the new rotating school schedule. Though I think that change may have played a part in my increased homework load, the main reason was probably more related to the fact that I was simply progressing in High School, and with more seniority (what little of it that a sophomore has…), comes more responsibility and thus, in many-a-teacher’s mind, justifies more homework!

So, due to this remarkable work load right at the beginning of school year of 2011, I picked up right where I left off at the end of freshman year and began my 9-month-long feat of procrastination (more like month long feat until I got back into the swing of things).

Junior Year:

This year started out a little bit differently. Since it’s junior year, I expected a lot more work, and a lot less fun. So, I started early: on the first day of school I did a reading a day ahead of when it was due, got all of my math homework for a week done in one hour, and even started researching a little for my annual science project. So far, I was proud of myself for getting things in early and done fairly well. I seemed to be handling my workload fine this way, until about the third week of school. Then things started piling up. Though I was researching for my science project, the Research Plan was due in a week, the essay for my english book was also almost due, as well as a math test, french test, biology quiz, Islam assessment, and USHRS project.

This is basically a mind map of what I do when procrastinating

Thus, it was about the time that I started procrastinating. Unfortunately, the cycle demonstrated above furiously ensued, and I ended up not getting much done (except maybe the small things). Eventually, though, the force field I created to shove all of my procrastinated-problems into eventually exploded, and I had to deal with it.

Slowly I’ve begun my recovery, and have gotten approximately 60% of my work done: I took all of my quizzes and tests, finished my Islam assessment, started my english essay, and am almost done with my science research plan. Now, all I have to do is a large portion of my USHRS project and my english essay, which in perspective of how the last few weeks have gone, isn’t quite so bad.

This year though, I’m going to try to stop the cycle dead in its tracks and go extreme-study-hall-style on all this work! Soon, I’ll be creating a homework space for myself where I won’t go on facebook, twitter, tumblr, or any other hilarious and entertaining social networking site I can find. Who knows how this exploration in studying will go, but eventually, everything has to get in, and somehow, like I always do, I will get it done.

Posted in: Learning