Yay for EdCafe!

Posted on May 29, 2013 by

0


Screen shot 2013-05-31 at 8.15.52 AM

I really liked the layout of the EdCafe, since each 20 minute period can give you a quick glimpse of someone’s topic.  Because of all the extensive research each person did on his or her topic along with the intimate group size (maximum of 3 people), the EdCafe helped the listeners learn the basics of a history event.  I wish in order to keep a café tone into EdCafe, to create more of an informal environment because sitting in a corner

As a presenter, I made a handout that had a map and some excerpts from primary sources.  I didn’t think that the handouts were going to be the center for discussion, however I found my EdCafe attendees to be drawn to the maps and interested in the excerpts I chose, asking questions and becoming more involved in conversation through the handouts.  More questions people asked allowed for me to touch base on information that I may have forgotten to mention during my first spiel.  I also found it helpful to really incorporate your attendees by having them read from the handout.  I chose three excerpts and had each person read an excerpt so it wasn’t just me talking the whole time.

I got a suggestion asking to speak slower, which is something I know I have to work on. When I get excited about a topic, I start to naturally speed up, and for my topic, in which there were different Native American tribes on each side, I should focus more on speaking articulately to clearly convey on who’s side each tribes were.  The EdCafe was a good opportunity to really work on presentations in intimate settings, and getting specific feedback from each of my attendees, which were very helpful.

 

Image from flickr
Photo by ‘rightsreaders’

Rights Readers Book Discussion Group

Tagged:
Posted in: No Category