Reflection from the EdCafe

Posted on May 29, 2013 by

0


Throughout this process I was able to learn a lot about Native Americans and how they were affected by European immigrants. The environment for the project was very helpful in learning because the audience was able to engage in conversation at any time they wanted which mad it much more easy to learn than if we were just listening to a presentation. As a presenter it was very interesting to be able to have the audience ask questions about your project that had never crossed your mind. It was a great experience over all. The most essential part of presenting in a informal way is to be able to keep the conversation going, the easiest way to do that was to ask the audience questions and get their opinions on things you had already thought about. Then try to push them to tink about what they were saying.
As a presenter I am good at talking about things that I did not prepare to talk about. When I am in the audience the biggest problem I have is thinking of questions to ask the presenter when he or she has finished. I usually am left satisfied when the presenter is done but there is still time left to talk. The best way to counteract this as a presenter is to have your conversation topics already thought out before you present.

I really enjoyed the whole EdCafe segment of the USHRS this year. I learned way more from the group discussions and informal presentations than I ever have from sitting and listening to somebody present something. I also was able to learn more about my own project because of the conversations I had with my audience. I especially like being in other people groups where they decided to engage the audience as much as they could. It was really fun to have conversations about immigration and Native Americans because they are not things that we usually talk about but are still very interesting. My favorite projects were the ones about Native Americans because there is so much they had to go through and they have many traditions that they still practice today that are very interesting.

Taken from Austin Dunlow
“The History of Smallpox and the Vaccine”

Tagged:
Posted in: No Category