Meredith EdCafe Reflection

Posted on May 29, 2013 by

0


For this new project style of the EdCafe I thought it was interesting. I have learned about myself that I do a better job of presenting. The small group setting and non graded presentation puts less stress on me and makes me feel more confortable. I like how the small groups allows for more of a conservation flow and less of somebody doing a boring presentation and people falling asleep in class. I think having some sort of handout works well in the small groups, I had a handout of Wovoka’s letter that I had people read from so everybody could be involved in one way. Also its a way for the group to have a visual and understan the topic a lot better. I learned from participating in the small groups that listening inattentively and asking question is beneficial to learn about another topic and get everything you can about what another student researched. I also learned that some of the discussions I could not participate well in because I did not know any information about that topic beforehand other then what the presenter just presented so when a conversation was happening I just listened and learned from it.

Image from woodleywonderworks Link to image : http://www.flickr.com/photos/73645804@N00/4005631298/in/photolist-76XUCA-7vEVz5-7wsDZf-dAtM4e-dAzfkd-7FGX5n-93vSVV-7HDd3X-93xmnL-93xJnU-9cBjq8-7DTPfB-8dsevv-c2i187-dAzfob-dAzfCb-dAtLVZ-dAzfgN-dAzf7J-e8CopV-9L4Kf2-dAUF8f-7MyF3y-8ZKMdZ-dKEVsV-aGgcBX-azAenh-adVpww-85bEcT-dSYZiM-dAzfvC-82NMsi-a9mSDs-9qXPWF-cpkD2E-axPn2c-a9mBno-bqb713-a9kAau-9erias-9n9SfU-aTr8gz-a9eK6V-aTrWGP-a9hBWe-a9hx5i-a9hD6p-9n7vfM-9XwPaa-cdRpn9-a9eHAK

Image from woodleywonderworks
Link to image : 

 

As a presenter I am good at getting information together and preparing what to say to the group. I am also good at finding good pictures that relate well to the topic and anything else that could be shown. I am not good at speaking in front of people because I get nervous and freeze up and usually my face turns red. In discussions I do a good job in listening and asking questions. Having the small groups was a lot better because with so few people I did not freeze up and I think I presented my topic very well and clearly. Sometimes in small groups I am not sure what questions to ask because I am not sure if they would be considered stupid or unrelated questions so I make sure to ask them at the right time without sounding to stupid.

I think the EdCafe experience would be better if there were comfy chairs and food. But other then that I liked the Edcafe and thought it was cool and that we should do it again. The only problem I saw was that there was to much time left over and so sometimes the small groups would just sit there and not know what to say. I wish I was able to attend other presentations but only having 2 sessions pre class makes it so you can’t see everybody’s that is presenting that day.

Tagged: ,
Posted in: Learning