Why I write (Laurel Galaty)

Posted on October 20, 2011 by

1


I’ve come to the point in my life where with everything I read, I notice the craft. My favorite writers conceal the craft, and pull me so deeply into the writing that I forget that what I am experiencing is merely words on a page. A simple phrase, when well written, can give me chills, and make me think beyond a single moment. A metaphor, when perfectly articulated, can make me book mark a page, and have me flipping back to read passages over and over. How can I experience that, and not want to make someone else’s life change through my words? In what may be the most selfish reason to write, I write because I am jealous. I envy the skills that these remarkable people have somehow mastered. The art of “saying it without saying it” is more difficult than most would imagine. No matter how hard I try I always end up hinting at it, in a blatant and unappealing way. Only my favorite author can describe an insect skulking on a dim branch, and make me realize that a main characters marriage is ending. How does a writer connect those two separate situations, and make every reader come to the same conclusion? I write because I want to master the craft, and join my favorite authors with the praise that they (and someday I) deserve.

Posted in: No Category